d_aulnoy: (Default)
[personal profile] d_aulnoy
I love Halloween.

I really do.  It's my favorite holiday, hands-down, maaaaaaaaybe tied with New Year's: in my head, they're both about closure and new beginnings.  And, of course, delicious sweets, delicious booze, and delicious costumes.

But I hate pre-made costumes.  I think some of them have interesting design concepts, but the execution of most of them is "meh."  I'm sure somewhere out there, there is a costume that I could hire for $100 bucks or so that would fill my heart with glee, but being that that idea seems to have gone the way of the dodo and the at-home doctor's consultation ... I improvise.

I tend to either view Halloween as an excuse to acquire off-the-wall accessories that I really want, or (when I cannot find them) as an excuse to wear the most particularly wacky pieces that I've acquired because they were too good to pass up.  This Halloween started out as a case of the former, and turned into a case of the latter.

See, I really want tall red boots.  I have craved them for ages upon end, fruitlessly, because apparently out there someone (WHO?) is thinking "Oh, red boots, no one would wear those ...."

F-list, can I get a shout-out?  If you could find tall red boots, how many of you would wear them?

And I'd be leading the charge.

But even in this, a year of boots being the fashion must-have, tall red boots (the horrid pleather ones aside, which, no) my dreams of dressing up as Nanny Ogg or Puss-in-Boots were scuttled.  So I had to resort to my own closet ....

When I graduated Columbia, V. and I went shopping at the local Goodwill.  (This always goes well.)  And I found a delightful red velvet garment.  As near as I can figure, it was probably a man's wedding kurta, all embroidered with gold thread.  Unsurprisingly, I snatched it up, unsurprisingly, V. approved and bought it for me as a graduation present, and unsurprisingly, I never did find a place to wear it (though, I'll admit, I was tempted to wear it for my own wedding).  Between concerns about the fact that I didn't have the proper pants to wear with it (the slits on the sides go up real high) and concerns about someone thinking I was being culturally appropriative if I wore it to a dressy function, it just sat in my closet, looking beautiful and inappropriate.

But!  Trying on this regal red garment, I thought ... hm.  Maharaja would still be culturally squicky (last night, I saw a guy dressed as a Hassidic Jew on his way to a Halloween party - I knew he was "in costume" because he was hangin' with Zorro, a clown, and a superhero, and to that, sir, all I can say is WTF), but ... royalty, red ... hm.

QUEEN OF HEARTS.  BINGO.

Yesterday during lunch I ran out and 'scoped crowns.  My gods, people spend loads of money on cheap and awful crap!  The ones at the "costume superstores" are made of plastic, and the bulk of the ones at the fancy-dress shops are $40 bucks or more, especially at this time of the year, when I suppose the costume jewelers think "Finally!  Someone will buy this antiquated stuff that we keep producing!  This, prom, and the chicks who seriously wear tiaras at weddings are the only things keeping us in business!"  Which, no.

However, I did find a heart-shaped crown developed for someone's "Sweet Sixteen."  How could I tell?  It had an ugly "16" right in the middle.

Luckily, I have a jeweler's saw.  So, $10 bucks and ten minutes later, it's gone, I've neatly wired a perfectly-fit Swarovski heart into place, and I was all set.  Or so I thought ....

... see, now it's raining.  So I may have to modify again

Luckily, I already have a greatcoat (of course I do), and I bought a cool plastic sword on a random trip to the drugstore a couple of weeks ago, just because (of course I did), so ... Pirate Queen of Hearts?  I'm one eye-patch away from perfection ... argh, matey!




February 2013

S M T W T F S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:11 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios