For the first few weeks, the crickets were cute. Well, except for when they were in my house.
Then I started catching them under random spare glasses to toss them outside, because, a) everybody knows it's bad luck to kill the frikkin' things, just like with spiders*, and b) just like with waterbugs, the remnants are ... less than charming ... to deal with.
And now? Now, I have had the same kind of an epiphany that I had when living in my 2nd apartment ever, the one where I just lost the basic gross-out factor of civilized humanity; I just picked the cricket up in my hand and tossed it off the balcony.
On the one hand, this will be considerably less time consuming. On the other, it more or less guarantees that I will continue to be The One Called Upon to Dispatch the Insect, Yea, From Now Until Eternity.
And from coast to coast, no less.
*Unless it is with the heel of your left shoe, but, even then, why would you? Leave enough of them alone, and you will have no problems whatsoever with other insects!
Then I started catching them under random spare glasses to toss them outside, because, a) everybody knows it's bad luck to kill the frikkin' things, just like with spiders*, and b) just like with waterbugs, the remnants are ... less than charming ... to deal with.
And now? Now, I have had the same kind of an epiphany that I had when living in my 2nd apartment ever, the one where I just lost the basic gross-out factor of civilized humanity; I just picked the cricket up in my hand and tossed it off the balcony.
On the one hand, this will be considerably less time consuming. On the other, it more or less guarantees that I will continue to be The One Called Upon to Dispatch the Insect, Yea, From Now Until Eternity.
And from coast to coast, no less.
*Unless it is with the heel of your left shoe, but, even then, why would you? Leave enough of them alone, and you will have no problems whatsoever with other insects!
no subject
Date: 2007-11-23 07:45 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-11-23 07:51 am (UTC)It's probably something about how they aim at the head, but, then again, it could just be innate. A conundrum somewhat like, if rather more disgusting than, that of the chicken and the egg.
no subject
Date: 2007-11-23 08:04 am (UTC)Yuck!!!
no subject
Date: 2007-11-23 08:02 am (UTC)I didn't know it was considered bad luck to kill crickets though!
no subject
Date: 2007-11-23 08:08 pm (UTC)And, at least according to my mother, who told me of this particular superstition when I was trying to decide amongst dresses for the wedding: she was *violently* averse to the concept of my wearing black, and when I pointed out that the whole white-dress thing wasn't really *our* tradition, as such, she said that that didn't matter, a belief was a belief, and told me a story about how she hadn't known about the cricket thing, killed one, was told about it by a neighbor afterwards, and attributed a few instances of bad luck that came about shortly thereafter to it. I dunno if I buy it (I mean, for one thing, before she told me, I may have slain a cricket or two myself), but I figure I'll observe it from this point onwards, because ... why not?
ETA: I could be wrong, but I believe it's a Chinese belief at its core, the cricket being considered lucky in that region.
no subject
Date: 2007-11-24 03:50 am (UTC)